A whole decade!

Nick and I met exactly 10 years ago today–September 5, 1999.

It was the Sunday night before Labor Day. He had recently moved from his hometown in West Va. to Ocean City, Maryland and got a job working at the Ocean City Fishing Center; my mom also worked there. I was living and working 2 hours away in Baltimore and came home to spend the holiday weekend with my mom.

That Sunday evening, the “young crowd” employed at the Fishing Center was sitting around the outdoor bar making plans to spend a fun, drunken night bar-hopping in OC. I decided to live dangerously and tag along, even though I barely knew these people. I had no idea at the time just how significant that night would be, that it was actually the beginning of the rest of my life… corny, but oh so true.

Two weekends later, I returned to Ocean City… this time to spend the weekend with Nick. My mom took these first pictures of us that weekend.

009

016

006

I came across these pictures not long ago and showed them to Nick. I said, “Look at us! This was 10 years ago… we were so young and cute and thin… and you had HAIR!!!!” I look at these pictures and think, “oh, what a shame that we aren’t those two cute people anymore!” My husband, on the other hand, looked at these pictures and said, “Yeah, but just think of how far we’ve come since then… everything we’ve done… and how much BETTER we are together now, 10 years later.”

Sometimes my husband is a genius. And he reminds me all over again why I fell so hard for him 10 years ago.

This entry was posted in me, Nickolas. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A whole decade!

  1. Cathy says:

    That is sweet as shit!!! :giggle:

    couple of cuties!

  2. Vanessa says:

    That is soooo sweet! You guys are such a cute couple!

  3. Morgan says:

    Erin, this is very interesting…We DO NEVER know where somethings will lead…I am happy that you have someone in your life that you love and loves you…We all want and need that.

    I apoligise for being so out of touch..I get tooooooo caught up in my own little adventures and drama’s.

    I wish for you and Nick many many more years together and may they be good times for the most part.

  4. Morgan says:

    Sorry for the misspelled word…

  5. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    VERY CUTE!!! and Happy Anniversary (belatedthoitbe)

  6. MommaC says:

    I always wondered exactly how this happened. *L* Congratulations…and I’m GLAD he hooked up with you!

Leave a Reply

