Makeover

My desk/office area has been in dire need of a makeover for quite some time. Part of the problem is that I don’t have an actual office. We have three bedrooms in this house, and they’re all occupied by people… which leaves no room for an office. Or for a scrapbook room. I could really use one of those, too!

But, we do have this odd little space between the kitchen and the wall to Damon’s room. I guess it’s supposed to be a dining area… and we do have a table and chairs here now. But it’s also been home to my desk for a while, too.

The desk was sitting smack dab in front of  a window, which was totally blocked by the huge hutch on the desk, which was totally crammed full of paperwork, scrapbooking stuff that didn’t fit anywhere else, odds and ends, and… oh yeah… my WORK stuff! The work stuff tended to get buried under everything else. And it just wasn’t a very good “working space.”

Here’s what my desk looked like on a typical day. No wonder I have a hard time getting anything done, right??

deskbefore

And, because of the huge hutch (only half pictured above), I always felt like I was surrounded and in a cave of sorts. And I really hated that the window was blocked.

Today, my mom and I tackled this project. First, Mom basically dismantled my entire desk to find the hidden screws that were holding the hutch in place. We removed the hutch. Next, we turned the desk so that, instead of facing the now uncovered window, it’s next to the window and facing the weird little retractable wall to Damon’s room.

I removed ALL of the scrapbooking stuff from my desk and the drawers… and put it aside for another day! So now my desk holds only work-related stuff, and there’s one drawer full of bills and other important papers. (Do me a favor and pretend you don’t see FarmTown on my monitor…)

015023

Now that the window is no longer hidden from the world, we’re going to put some curtains up there, too. Mom took them home to iron tonight… so by tomorrow evening, I’m sure the curtains will be hanging. And, how about the cute little {w} hanging on the wall, eh??

019

Some of my scrapbooking stuff that used to live on the desk is now on the little cart in the corner, along with the modem (that wouldn’t reach to the desk’s new position in the room), telephone, and my camera. Oh, and pictures of my cuties, of course (courtesy of Bluebug Photography).

029

I’m especially excited that I have room on my new desktop to display work-related books that I actually USE (and always had a hard time putting my hands on before).

024

And my favorite “motivational piece” from my friend Susan (who knows me too well!) also sits on my desk.

027

And this lamp! This awesome lamp that I found at Goodwill a couple of weeks ago for only $6!!! is probably my favorite addition to my work space.

031

I’m very pleased with our work on my office space!

And I don’t even want to talk about what my scrap space in the kitchen looks like right now. Mom says we’ll tackle that project tomorrow… I’m thinking next week sounds even better!!!

This entry was posted in House stuff, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Makeover

  1. Becki says:

    Yay, Erin! I wish I could get Eric motivated enough to help my (often failed) organizational efforts.

  2. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    My hero(ine)!!! . . . lookin’ gooooood!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Night News Shorts « Crazy Comma Momma

  4. MommaC says:

    Ahhh…very nice! Bound to make you feel better! Now, could you send your Mom to my house? My office is…[unmentionable]!

  5. Penny says:

    It looks great Erin, amazing what a little rearranging can do to a room huh ?

Leave a Reply

