Been There, Read That… May 2009

I think May has been my best month so far this year, with these 11 books read:

Lover Unbound by J.R. Ward (re-read)

Lover Enshrined by J.R. Ward (re-read)

Lover Avenged by J.R. Ward

Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Tempting Evil by Keri Arthur

Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

Shadow Dance by Julie Garwood

Ghostland by Jory Strong

Angels’ Blood by  Nalini Singh

Dangerous Games by Keri Arthur

Obviously I re-read two J.R. Ward books to refresh my memory of the series before reading the latest installment, Lover Avenged. I know there are lots of mixed feelings out there regarding Ms. Ward and her Black Dagger Brotherhood… and although I don’t love the books as much now as I did in the beginning (Wrath is still my favorite Brother), I still enjoy this series. In fact, I enjoy it enough that I shelled out the extra money for the hardback of Lover Avenged. And I hate hardback books (both the format and the price!), so that’s saying something.

One thing I loved about Lover Avenged: John Matthew.

One thing I liked about Lover Avenged: it wasn’t overrun with Lesser crap. I could live without the Lessers altogether, really.

One thing I hated about Lover Avenged: Lash. He just makes my skin crawl.

Moving on… Blood and Chocolate. I remember that I really liked this YA book. But now, a month later, I couldn’t tell you the first thing about it. It was one of those books that I read and then forgot. Which doesn’t mean it’s not a good book; it means I have a horrible memory.

I was soooo excited to read Interview with the Vampire. I ordered it from Paperback Swap and thought it would be great to go back and read some old-school vampire lit. Well, it wasn’t great. In fact, I didn’t even finish this book. I suffered through more than half of it and then thought, “Why am I doing this to myself? I hate this book.” And then I tossed it aside. Booooooring. Sorry, Anne Rice. I tried.

In May, I read two more of Keri Arthur’s Riley Jenson books, Tempting Evil and Dangerous Games. I wasn’t sure about this series after the first book, liked it a little more after the second book, and now I can’t wait to read the next one. Riley and the rest of the characters have definitely grown on me.

Sookie and that crew have grown on me, too. I wasn’t sure about that series after the first book either. But after I finished Club Dead last month, I went ahead and ordered the rest of the series (minus the latest, which is still in hardback, blech!). I also ordered TrueBlood (the HBO series based on these books) from Netflix yesterday. I’m really looking forward to that!

Shadow Dance was okay. It was an easy read (nice to throw a book with human characters in there to break things up a bit, and give my brain a break!). But I prefer Garwood’s historicals (just like Angie said I would).

I’m still not sure how I felt about Ghostland. There was so much hype about this book in the book-blogging world, and I was dying to get my hands on it. And I liked it; it was a good story with an interesting world and characters. But I’m not sure it was as great as everyone has made it out to be. I guess with all the hype, I expected more. But it was good, and I’ll probably buy the next one in the series when it’s available.

By far, my favorite book this month was Nalini Singh’s Angels’ Blood. I’ve read (and enjoyed) a few of Nalini’s Psy-Changeling books, and I was anxious to see what this new series was all about. I devoured it, and when it was over, I was left dying for more!! I’m not sure when the next one is scheduled to be released, but I know it’s not soon enough. I certainly understand all of the hype about this one. Love, love, love this book. If you don’t read anything else in this post, read this and go get a copy of Angels’ Blood. It’s gooooood stuff!

This entry was posted in books, BTRT recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

