Friday Nights with Avery

Because Nick works ’til all hours of the morning DJing on Friday and Saturday nights, the kids and I have started having little weekend slumber parties in the living room on those nights. What this means is that we usually rent a movie (last weekend was Bolt and Marley and Me, remember?), the kids fight over who gets to sleep in the new recliner, and we all ultimately do fall asleep somewhere in the living room… Nick tries not to trip over us when he arrives home, kisses us each goodnight before retiring himself, and we are completely oblivious to his presence. It’s fun stuff.

Last night, Damon went to a friend’s house for the night, so it was an Avery and Mommy kinda night. I love those nights. Avery has rapidly become my very best friend, and I honestly can’t think of anyone else I’d rather spend a Friday night with!

Instead of renting a movie last night, I curled up on the couch with a book. And Avery… well, she decided to write (and illustrate) her own book. She started off by stapling two pieces of paper together and drawing a picture on one of them. Then she dictated her story to me, and I wrote the sentences on a scrap piece of paper. She then spent HOURS copying the words in her own writing to the storybook. It was quite an undertaking!!

Avery looked so cute all snuggled in the recliner with her sheet and blankies and Bear. She was so hard at work on her book… I just HAD to take some pictures of her.

016

013

022

101

049a

And then, there were the obligatory funny faces…

034

036

037

064

066

This one is my favorite… it’s how I feel most days!

046

Comet was there, of course. His spot for slumber parties is on top of my feet, at the other end of the couch. Comet doesn’t know he’s a moose.

004

The “Avery and Mommy” pics didn’t turn out that great… but here’s one of us, anyway.

060

With all of the transcribing and picture-taking, I didn’t get much of my book read. But that’s okay… the book isn’t going anywhere.

This entry was posted in Avery, Comet, me, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Nights with Avery

  1. Michelle says:

    Sob sob. That is why I am so sad about not having a little girl. You are so blessed. What a sweet moment to capture! I love this slumber party idea, we may have to give this a try!

  2. Penny says:

    Isn’t 5 a fun age ? Reagan’s new thing is draw all of our greeting cards and have me write on a piece of paper what she wants to write inside and then she copies it.
    Enjoy your Momma/ daughter nights, they make some pretty special memories

  3. Mary says:

    LOVE the photos – Avery is such a mini Erin – brings back very fond memories!

Leave a Reply

