When you’re five

When you’re five, a sandal makes the perfect boat for your Barbie and Polly Pockets.

002

001

Nevermind the fact that you have an actual BOAT for your Polly Pockets in the house somewhere. The sandal is better… when you’re five.

When you’re five, a stack of wood makes the perfect bed for your Barbie and Polly Pockets.

010

009

And, yes, you also have actual BEDS for your Polly Pockets. But a stack of wood is better… when you’re five.

When you’re five, you can get away with wearing wooly Crocs with a dress. Because the sandals are busy acting as boats. This is much more important than a silly thing like fashion… when you’re five.

005

When you were five, Avery, you filled my heart with wonder, every day. You made me laugh, a lot. I never tired of staring at you and wondering whose eyes you have, whose hair you have, whose elbows and knees and cheeks you have. I picked you up and held you close in my arms, just because I still could. I knew that, with each passing day, you were leaving another piece of my baby girl behind. I wanted to remember every conversation, every smile, every moment… when you were five.

008

006

This entry was posted in Avery, motherhood, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When you’re five

  1. Emily says:

    Wooly crocs aside, she is a beautiful little girl and you are most definitely blessed!

  2. MommaC says:

    I absolutely love this!

  3. Erin says:

    I must be feeling especially hormonal today… b/c even though I wrote this last night (and know what it says!), I just read it again… and teared up.

    I’m a sad case!

Leave a Reply

