Been There, Read That… April ’09

So far, April’s been my busiest month this year… reading-wise, anyway. I managed to read eight books (you can always find my BTRT list for the year here), and I’m pretty happy with that number. I subscribe to many book blogs, and I’m always amazed by how many books these ladies read in a month’s time! Considering the fact that I squeeze in 20 minutes of reading here and there when I can… and don’t very often allow myself to just sit and read for hours on end… eight books a month sounds like plenty to me!

In April, I devoured the first three books in Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series: Moon Called, Blood Bound, and Iron Kissed. What can I say other than… I loved them. Love Mercy and the cast of characters presented in these books. And I know there’s a fourth one out there that I can’t wait to get my hands on soon! I’d also like to try some of Briggs’ other books… anyone have any recommendations??

I also read the second installment in Keri Arthur’s Riley Jenson Guardian series: Kissing Sin. I like this series… and I liked this book a little more than the first; I think maybe I felt a little more comfortable with the series by book two! But it’s heavy stuff, and I’m always exhausted when I finish one of these books. I have the next one in the series sitting here, waiting patiently to be read. I’ll get to it eventually… So many books, so little time!! I love that there are lots of books in this series and that I’m just now discovering them. I can take my time reading them leisurely and not have to wait 6 months or a year for the next one (plus, my library carries most of them… another bonus!).

Call me a lightweight, but I can only handle so many paranormals and/or urban fantasies in a row… too many vampires and werewolves and shifters and other creatures, and I start to get really confused and feel like my head’s going to explode! So, I treated myself to two books about humans next: Monica McCarty’s Highlander Unchained and Lisa Kleypas’ Blue-Eyed Devil. I always love McCarty’s Highlander books, so it’s a given that I enjoyed that one. This was my first time reading Kleypas, however; I’ve read so much about her recently in the book blogging world, and I just had to see what the hype was about. I wasn’t at all disappointed. It was a great story with wonderful, “real” characters… and just the break I needed from things that go bump in the night.

I finally got my hands on a copy of Dawnkeepers by Jessica Andersen, the second in the Final Prophecy series. I read the first one, Nightkeepers, quite some time ago and  remember that I couldn’t wait for the second one to be released. But, it took me a while to get around to it… so, I had to go back and re-read Nightkeepers, and I’m so glad I did. I think I enjoyed it even more the second time around, and then I devoured Dawnkeepers. This is yet another awesome series that I can’t get enough of! I’ll be waiting impatiently for the next book to be released in August.

I’d say April was a good month… I really enjoyed everything I read and discovered two new-to-me authors.

This entry was posted in books, BTRT recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Been There, Read That… April ’09

  1. Angie says:

    I think the only other books of Briggs’ that you’ll really enjoy are Alpha and Omega, and Cry Wolf. Alpha and Omega is the novella that precedes Cry Wolf, though at Amazon Cry Wolf is listed as book one. You need to read Alpha and Omega first. They’re set in the Mercy world, but are about the wolf family she grew up with. In some ways, I think they’re more romance than the Mercy books. Now is a good time to read them because the third, Hunting Ground, releases in August (on my birthday!)

    Her other books are all fantasy, which I don’t get the sense is your cup of tea. Not fantasy romance like the CL Wilson books but fantasy. I enjoyed them but they aren’t books I’d have ever picked out for you.

Leave a Reply

