The bird hotel

When my husband does something, he does it BIG. Building a birdhouse is no exception…

Several months ago, Nick told me that he and Damon were going to build a birdhouse for Cub Scouts. Of course, I’m picturing a normal, little birdhouse. When I saw the finished product, I almost fell over… and then dubbed it the Bird Hotel. (Nick rolls his eyes every time I call it that… but seriously… there’s nothing “house” about it!)

But he didn’t even stop there. Oh, no.

Then he made this holy mother of a post that was big enough to hold the bird hotel… and told me he was going to hang two bird feeders from either side of it. Oh, my.

After spending several months in our basement, Nick’s bird hotel creation finally found a home in our front yard. And it’s just as obnoxious as I imagined it would be (it looks like a good spot for a crucifixion to me).

0011

005

But, I gotta hand it to him… the birds DO love their new resort in our front yard. Mostly, I think they come for the all-you-can-eat sunflower seed buffet… and to drive our dogs insane. Lizzie spends all day running back and forth from window to window, barking at the birds (and giving me a headache). And every time we let Comet outside, he takes off toward the bird hotel and then tries to chase the birds through the neighborhood as they’re escaping him.

008

012

016

020

019

This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The bird hotel

  1. MommaC says:

    Wow. I mentioned to J. just yesterday how I miss goldfinches. They are gorgeous, aren’t they? There don’t seem to be many around here at the feeders.

    Great birdhouse!

  2. Laza says:

    Ha! That is too funny. Definitely reminds me of my dad who has really gotten into bird feeders in the last few years. He said that birds won’t live where they eat (a mistake he apparently learned when he put food in the bird houses to “invite” them in) so I’ll be curious to see what kind of birds you get in your hotel. 🙂

  3. Trish says:

    What lovely birds!! I’ve known people to build houses for birds who migrate back each year, but not hubby and I! I do like the little hummingbird feeders, though.

  4. I have a little something for you on my blog. You can pick it up here.

  5. Pingback: Wildlife « Crazy Comma Momma

Leave a Reply

