Been There, Read That… March ’09

I almost forgot about this… Then I went to update my Books page this morning and realized I had to start a new month already!

I’m a sad, sorry excuse for a reader. Even with a 10-day hospital stay, I only managed to read five measly books in March!

First up were Books 2 and 3 in Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series: Frostbite and Shadow Kiss. I’ve already blogged quite a bit about Vampire Academy and how much I enjoyed the first book in this series. So it’s no surprise that I thoroughly enjoyed these installments, too. With each book, I find myself liking the main character, Rose, even more. She’s definitely grown up a lot since the first book! And her best friend Lissa is growing on me… slowly but surely. Without giving too much away (just in case anyone who reads my blog actually plans to read these books!), the end of Shadow Kiss made me very, very, very sad. I don’t like it… at all. Even so, I’m anxiously awaiting the release of Book 4!

Next, I read Pride by Rachel Vincent… Book 3 in her Werecats series. I really wish I’d had Books 1 and 2 to re-read before reading this one (I loaned mine to a friend several months ago)… because there were a few things that were mentioned from those stories that I had absolutely NO recollection of. And, considering I’m super anal about reading books in order (for precisely that reason!), that really bothered me. But aside from that, I looooved Pride. Faythe is just awesome. I heart her. And the boys/cats/whatever… Yummmm-O. Rachel Vincent just might convince me that werecats are even sexier than vampires. Jace and Marc = *drool* Faythe is a lucky, lucky girl… errr, werecat girl. This book was definitely action-packed. Honestly, I would’ve liked a little LESS action. It made me tired, going from one action-packed scene to the next! And I found myself missing the Ranch and some of the characters from the previous books who were left back there (like Faythe’s mom!). But it was a great book. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for Faythe and the boys (*drool*) next!

I already blogged about Butterfly Tattoo by Deidre Knight here. Again… it’s an awesome book. It releases April 21st. You should definitely buy it.

And the fifth and final book for March was Full Moon Rising by Keri Arthur. I started reading this book toward the end of my hospital stay. I didn’t really know that much about the series… but when I saw it at my local library, I did recognize it and snatched it up. Well, the book should come with a warning… or something. Holy crazy sex scenes, Batman!! Not that that’s a BAD thing, but I was just totally unprepared. Here I was in my hospital bed, reading… and the nurses would come in to take my blood pressure, and I’d think, “hmmm, that might not be such a good idea… not right now!” Seriously, werewolves (or vampires!) + full moon (or anytime even CLOSE to the full moon!) = hot stuff! I had a little bit of trouble keeping all of the “creatures” in this book straight. It’s chock full o’ paranormal goodies, that’s for sure! I liked the book, but didn’t looove it. However, I AM currently reading Book 2 in the series… so, clearly, I liked it enough! So far, I’m liking Book 2 even more… so I’d venture a guess that this is a series that grows on ya the more you read!

That’s it for March!

This entry was posted in books, BTRT recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

