Wondrous Words Wednesday

This weekly meme all about “new to me words” is hosted by Bermudaonion… and every week when I read her WWW post, I think, “Really? People come across words they don’t know that often??” So, I’ve recently started paying more attention when I’m reading. And I was quite surprised to find that I DO come across words that I don’t know… I guess I’ve always just kinda guessed at the meaning based on the context and moved on, not giving the words a second thought (being the bad speed reader that I am!).

But this week, I actually jotted down the words that I didn’t recognize (while reading Moon Called by Patricia Briggs)… just so I could play along with this meme this week! I’m only halfway through this book, but even so, found three words that were new to me. (Definitions are from dictionary.com.)

1. harridan: “I’d never met her myself, but he smelled of happiness not fear when he talked of her, so I knew she couldn’t be the harridan he described.”

A harridan is “a scolding, vicious woman; hag; shrew.”

2. desultory: “After lunch I did some desultory grocery shopping and bought small turkey to share with Medea.”

Desultory means “having no set plan; haphazard or random” or “moving or jumping from one thing to another; disconnected.”

3. anathema: “But most of the werewolves in power in the US had been born in a time when homosexuality was anathema, even punishable by death in some places.”

An anathema is “a person or thing detested or loathed.”

Have you come across any new (to you) words this week??

This entry was posted in books, meme. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wondrous Words Wednesday

  1. I totally agree, I didn’t realize how many words I didn’t know until I started paying attention (thanks to this meme). Like you, I just guessed at their meaning given the context and read on.

    I like that first quote! It made me check out the book you’re reading.

    Here are my Wondrous Words for this week.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I’m like you – I usually guess the meaning of the word from the context, but I decided I needed to stop doing that. A lot of times my guesses have been right, but I have run across a few that weren’t. Thanks for playing along today!

  3. Mo says:

    Isn’t it funny how that happens? Glad you, too, have decided to play along…I’m having a BLAST playing (it’s just my second week!).

    Hope you have a wonderful, “wordy” week ahead!

  4. Lisa says:

    Very good words! I agree that anyone who reads a lot will pick up a lot of words in context – my test for this meme is whether or not I could write out a definition.

    My Wondrous Words are here.

  5. Margot says:

    I like your new words, especially desultory. From now on I’m going to say something like “Oh, I’m just running through my blogroll in a desultory fashion.” Don’t I sound smart? lol Glad you are joining in on this meme. It’s been a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

