Snippets

I’m having a hard time getting back into my blogging groove now that I’m home (God forbid!). I feel like there are ALL sorts of things that I want to blog about, but my brain isn’t very organized these days… So, for this morning, in lieu of anything “real” to say, here are some random snippets to keep you abreast of what’s going on in my world (always a fascinating place!).

  • Yesterday I started back to work, for the first time in weeks. It didn’t go very well. I had big plans… to shut down all of my “fun,” social networking applications on the computer… and to actually WORK, for several hours if need be, and get something accomplished. Yeah, uh huh. I worked for 30 minutes before I came up with an excuse to get online. And, well, I never did make it back to the work. Basically, I’m just a huge loser… and I admit it. I can’t HANDLE the Internet!
  • Nick had both dogs groomed while I was in the hospital… thinking that it might cut down on my doggy allergies (which may or may not have contributed to my recent lung failures). Comet looks absolutely gorgeous! The first time he’s ever had a trim, and it definitely agrees with him. The only problem is… I think they bathed my dogs in something toxic. Something really toxic. I’ve spent the past several days nursing a bald spot on Lizzie’s back. And Comet’s skin is covered in scabs from head to tail. Not good, Martha. I don’t think “pretty dogs” are worth that. My poor babies!!
  • I haven’t had a cigarette in 17 days. Not that I’m counting or anything. Actually, it’s going surprisingly well. Ten days “detoxing” in the hospital helped tremendously, of course. Now that I’m home, I eat a lot of Dum Dum suckers… and I’ve had a few temper tantrums. And I have no hope of ever having fingernails (not that I had them to begin with; I’ve always been a nasty nailbiter!). But I can breathe, and I’m happy about that.
  • My very first medical bill arrived in the mail yesterday. I’ve been mentally preparing myself for this for 2 weeks now… I KNOW it’s not going to be pretty (unfortunately I am uninsured, for those who are new here!). Still, to see the numbers roll in… it makes one a little sick to her stomach, no matter HOW mentally prepared she is! One of these days, I’ll have to post my hospital stay by numbers (when all of the bad news has had a chance to arrive). That should be fun! I keep reminding myself that I’m alive… and that’s worth any amount of medical bills.
  • And, because we have so much extra money lying around, my husband has started househunting. (I don’t have a clue how his brain works, but I like to humor him from time to time.) Yesterday, he found the cutest-ever little house that’s just down the street from where we rent now… a 4-bedroom house for a whopping $35K. And, surprisingly, it’s not falling down or anything. It looks like it’s in pretty decent shape. We have an appointment to look at it later this week. I do love to humor my husband…
  • I’m in the process of making a few “thank you” gifts for some people who took excellent care of me in the hospital. I’m feeling a little weird about it… like, when I walk into the hospital and approach these people and give them gifts, are they going to think I’m a psychotic stalker?? Really, I’m just an extremely grateful ex-patient… and I want them to know that they touched my life in a way. I hope they see the difference. So, all of my health care friends… thoughts??
This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snippets

  1. Leslie P. says:

    Not a health care friend, but three of my cousins are nurses. They recommended that we take a gift basket (fruit, candy, etc) over to Fairfax Hospital after my grandmother passed away – which we did – and the nurses seemed to really appreciate it. Also, my uncle wrote a letter to the hospital administrator commending the nursing staff in that particular unit where my grandmother was. Just a thought…

  2. Linda Mills says:

    Erin, as a nurse, and a nurse supervisor, I think that a personal note to the “special nurses” is appropriate and a supermarket sandwich tray or candy to be shared is appreciated. Believe me……the “thank you’s” are few and far between. A note to administration commending staff is always appreciated. Love you….Aunt Linda

  3. Carrie says:

    Erin, You are so thoughtful! I think that it is wonderful with all that you have going on at home since you were away for so long, you are still thinking about thanking others……awe!

  4. Heather says:

    Congratulations on 17 days of no smoking!! I don’t smoke, but many of my family members do, and most of them have tried to quit unsuccessfully about a million times. Quitting is such a huge gift to yourself and your family – I wish you tons of luck in the endeavor. 🙂

  5. Penny says:

    I think you should make the thankyous for the health care workers that you want to give thanks to and write a letter to the hospital admin mentioning each one seperately.
    They’re not going to think you a stalker, they’re going to feel good about helping you and knowing that they really had a positive input in your life. Unfortunately health care workers don’t receive a lot of praise they just hear the negative. You could bring a little sunshine to an otherwise very gloomy day for them.

  6. Diane says:

    Congrats on the house hunting!
    Does it make you laugh hysterically at the price when you think of what you could get for $35K in Baltimore?! 🙂

  7. Tammi says:

    I think the thank yous are a great idea!!!!!! Good luck with the house. Tammi

Leave a Reply

