Why my job will drive me to drink

I had a new project thrust at me last week… one that I didn’t particularly want to take on, but it really didn’t sound like it would be all that difficult, so I decided to help out.

Apparently there’s a backlog of manuscripts sitting in an editorial office in India, and they need some extra help getting these rolling. I was told that I wouldn’t have to stress too much about style (because this isn’t one of my usual journals and, of course, it’s a brand new style… in addition to the 10-12 styles I already have to keep separated in my little brain)… so, I was told not to worry about style so much, to “just do a light language edit” and get these articles on the move as quickly as possible. Sounds easy enough, right??

Please, someone, tell me HOW in the world you do a “light language edit” on THIS:

Because of these advantages causes people widely to pay more attention to for study in different fields for further.

And that’s just in the first paragraph of this article. It can’t be a good sign of what’s to come in the next 20 pages or so… I really, really want to cry right now. Or drink. Or run away from home, change my name, dye my hair, and weave baskets in a cabin in the woods. I think I’d make a damn good basket weaver.

(Light language edit my ass!)

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why my job will drive me to drink

  1. Grampy the Amateur Editor says:

    Unlike those less fortunate, such people are free to pursue r studies in a variety of fields beyond the reach — or interest — of the typical hapless Hindu.

    Have you seem “Slumdog Millionaire?” (Do it!)

  2. Erin says:

    I have no clue what you just said, Dad.
    No, I haven’t seen Slumdog yet… it takes me a few years to get around to seeing movies. I’m an overworked and underpaid mom, after all!

Leave a Reply

