Been There, Read That… Feb. ’09

I told you guys I wouldn’t get much reading done in February… and I didn’t. Although, considering the amount of work I did in February, I’m surprised that I managed to read even the measly five books that I did! Thank goodness for the 30-40 minutes I spend in the car waiting for Damon each afternoon… if not for that time, I probably wouldn’t read at all these days (and that would be beyond sad!).

The first book I read last month was Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. And I’ve already posted quite a bit about how much I loved this book… here and here. Today I started on Frostbite (book 2 of that series), and I’m having a great time getting reacquainted with Rose, Lissa, Dimitri, and the VA gang!

The next two books I read in February were the first two in the Southern Vampire Mysteries series… Dead Until Dark and Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris. I was a little disappointed in these books… but probably only because they’ve been talked up a lot (and they’ve been turned into an HBO series). I didn’t find myself falling in love with Sookie or Vampire Bill… or any of the characters, really. I thought that, for the most part, the writing style didn’t really match up with what was going on in the books. There were a lot of tragic, bad-vampire kinda things happening, yet it was written in a cutesy, flippant way that didn’t really work for me. I don’t think I’ve ever read a bad review of these books, so clearly I’m in the minority here… and I didn’t absolutely hate the books. Actually, I think I was starting to get more “into” it by the end of the second one. I would definitely read more books in the series (and hope that, with each book, I like the story and the characters a little more!), but I’m not in any hurry to get my hands on the next one. I think my TBR pile is chock full of books that I’ll like a lot more than these.

With Deadly Night by Heather Graham, I discovered a new-to-me author last month. I’d never heard of Heather Graham or these books, but saw them on a shelf at Barnes and Noble several weeks ago and decided to give this one a shot. I’m so glad it jumped off the shelf at me because I really, really enjoyed everything about it… the mystery, the characters, the writing, the little bit of paranormal, the romance, etc. I’m also glad that there are two more books in this trilogy (in fact, they arrived from Amazon just yesterday!). I’m looking forward to more mystery and romance from the remaining Flynn Brothers.

Last but not least for February (in fact, this one might’ve slipped into the beginning of March!) was Highlander Unmasked by Monica McCarty. I’m not at all surprised that I loved the story of Alex and Meg. I’ve yet to “meet” a Highlander who didn’t make me weak in the knees; Alex McLeod was no exception. Although this book wasn’t quite as sexy as Highlander Untamed (Alex’s brother Rory’s tale), it was still a good historical love story and I enjoyed every page of it. I think it’s interesting that McCarty bases her characters on real people. At the end of each book, she has a little Historical Notes blurb… in which she admits that, although the love story is purely fictional, most of the characters are based on “actual historical figures.” It almost makes me want to pick up a non-fiction book and learn more about the real Highlanders of that time period…

Almost, but not quite. After all, I have more purely fictional vampires and werecats and other fun creatures/people waiting for me! I’m hoping to get more reading done this month than last… I’ll be back in April with another monthly reading recap!

This entry was posted in books, BTRT recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Been There, Read That… Feb. ’09

  1. Helen Hunt says:

    Awesome stuff!

    Love the genre of books you are into – and you like to ask if you’d fancy the opportunity of reviewing any of your books for our site?

    We think you’re doing a great job and would be happy to post your book reviews on our site. This will also help to drive huge unique visitors to your blog; and hopefully subscribe to your RSS Feed.

    Please leave a comment on our blog if you’re interested.


    Helen

  2. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    On a less blood-sucking note, me and Morgan (sic) are reading (aloud before nighty-night) “The Shack” — second time thru and EVEN BETTER . . . fourth time could be a charm!

Leave a Reply

