Weekly Geeks 2009-05

This week, the Geeks are talking about book covers. The challenge is to do some research and find different book covers for the same book and discuss which ones you like better, etc.

To tell you the truth, I’ve never really given book covers a lot of thought… I don’t care too much what the cover looks like, as long as there’s a good story lurking somewhere under it!

But, in thinking about this topic this weekend, I realized that I do have one little, tiny (rather strong) opinion when it comes to book covers… I absolutely hate it when books are made into movies or tv shows and the covers are suddenly changed to depict the actors in the movie (or whatever). I seriously hate that!

In fact, just a few weeks ago when I was shopping at my local B&N, I bought Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris. And I searched and searched (and searched some more) to find a copy of the book with the “real” cover… not that horrid-looking thing that they made when it became an HBO series.

Here’s the “real” cover that most people probably recognize as part of the Southern Vampires series (and the one I was so excited to find buried on a shelf in B&N):

deadorig

And here’s the “new,” God-awful cover that, I guess, appeals to the True Blood fans:

deadtv

I don’t know about you, but I get a totally different impression of this story based on these two, totally different covers. And I don’t want to read the second one (even though I know it’s the same darn book inside). Plus, I’m a little anal and want all of my books from a series to kinda/sorta match. And that second cover doesn’t even come close to matching up with the rest of the Sookie books… no way, uh uh. Yet, they’ve even included it in the box set of the series… ACK! Just HATE it.

Here’s another example.

Nick and Norah before the movie:

nicknorahorig

And Nick and Norah (and the actor and actress who play them in the movie) now:

nicknorah

I happen to own a book with the second cover in this case… but I’m not happy about it (or the fact that there’s a whole section in the middle of the book chock full o’ still pics from the movie… with ALL of the main characters pictured).

I just hate the idea of having a movie poster or some actor’s face plastered on the front of my book. I don’t want someone to give me an actual photo of the characters; I like creating my own images of them as I read the story, thankyouverymuch. I’m pretty sure that when Dan Brown was writing The Da Vinci Code, he didn’t have images of Tom Hanks floating around in his head… and I don’t want them in mine when I’m reading the book either.

(And, no, I’m not usually this grumpy! lol)

This entry was posted in books, Weekly Geeks. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekly Geeks 2009-05

  1. Erika Lynn says:

    With Dead until Dark I agree the movie cover is horrible but I kinda like the movie cover for Nick and Norah. For me its a case by case basis and not a hard as fast rule but I do tend to like original covers.

  2. Maria says:

    I totaly agree with you Erin, except that for me covers always matter. I am a very “judge a book by it’s cover” sort of girl (In the literal sense).

    I did just recently buy Alfie with a picture of Jude Law on the cover but it was at the Dollar Tree and I thought I could sacrifice the dollar for a book I thought I would like (and my opinion of that book is based entirely on the movie adaptation anyway).

  3. Florinda says:

    I agree with you on this too. I saw “Marley & Me” as a movie before I read the book, and when I decided to buy the book afterwards, I ended up with the movie tie-in edition. Despite my fondness for Owen Wilson, I picked a different cover when I added the book to my LibraryThing collection.

  4. claire says:

    Sometimes I don’t mind movie posters on book covers.. but most of the time I do, too. That purple Nick and Norah with the heart pre-movie is lovely.

  5. Ellen says:

    I totally agree! I also hate when they put the actors on the book and take away the picture you create of the characters in your mind. It’s so hard to read a book after you’ve seen the movie without picturing the actors as you read, so I won’t do it anymore. If I didn’t read it before I saw the movie, or even the trailer, it’s too late. As further evidence of my need to control my perception of characters, I won’t read trashy romance novels with people on the cover. I refuse to have my vision of the romantic lead skewed!

  6. I have to agree and the 2nd cover is just yucky. I couldn’t bring it into my house. I’d have to be hiding the cover from my son. I get enough questions from him and my hubby when the cover has a bare chested guy on it – which is most romances it seems nowadays. Even, when it doesn’t apply to the title. I’d have to go with the first cover.

  7. Kerrie says:

    My first instinct is to say that covers don’t matter to me, but actually they do. I think that second DEAD UNTIL DARK cover was awful.

  8. Linda says:

    I enjoyed the movie Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist. I’ll have to read the book now!

  9. It seems most prefer original covers to movie tie-ins. From helping out over the holidays at my local main street bookstore, I can tell you that people did not want the movie tie-in for Twilight.

  10. I agree. I like both the 1st covers. I usually don’t like actors on the cover with one exception, Gillian Anderson on the cover of Bleak House. She is Lady Dedlock. I think the expression on her face shows how sad Lady Dedlock is:

    http://tinyurl.com/bj4j2t

  11. Dorte H says:

    I also think the second book cover is horrible.
    I don´t care about covers when I buy cheap second-hand books, but when I pick books in the library, I fall for nice covers.

  12. Lightheaded says:

    I loved the cartoony and even sparkly covers of the series! Unfortunately I loved all the eight covers more than the last four books 😦 Though I highly recommend the first four as totally entertaining, no-doubt-about-it guilty pleasure 🙂

Leave a Reply

