My new favorite book

First, let me start by saying that every book that I’ve *just* finished and enjoyed is a “new favorite.” This doesn’t mean it’s the best book I’ve ever read or ever will read… but it means I’m still experiencing that “wow, I really enjoyed that one!” high that comes after reading a good book.

So, I *just* (like 5 minutes ago) finished reading Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy. And it’s my new favorite. Looooooved it.

And considering the fact that I didn’t looooove the last two books I read (which is almost unheard of for me; I swear, I’m an easy fangirl!), I’m even more excited about loving this one.

It’s a YA book and I’d put it right up there with Harry Potter. I compare all YA with Harry, simply because Harry was my first experience reading YA-designated books as an adult. And, because of the setting (a school/training academy for young vampires and their “guardians” on a hidden-away campus somewhere in Montana), it put me in the mind of Harry and the gang at Hogwarts. Only, I think I liked the gang at the Academy a lot more than the wizard kids.

I especially loved the attraction (not quite a romance, but getting there…) between Rose and her mentor, Dimitri. I can’t wait to read more about them in the rest of this series (which I’ll be purchasing just as soon as I lift my self-imposed shopping ban over at Amazon!). In fact, I can’t wait to read more about just about all of the characters introduced in this first book. I’m definitely left wanting more… satisfied with the way this story wrapped up, but not wanting to say goodbye to my new Academy friends so soon!

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My new favorite book

  1. Oh yay, I’m glad you liked it. I recently bought it…might read it next!

  2. Pingback: Vampire Academy: a real review! «

  3. Pingback: Been There, Read That… Feb. ‘09 «

  4. Pingback: Been There, Read That… March ‘09 «

Leave a Reply

