Weekly Geeks 2009-04

So, I was a loser and missed playing along with last week’s WG, darn it. I thought about doing it, but just didn’t have the time required because I was in the middle of that pesky editing project! I thought it was a really great challenge, though, all about classic lit (which I have a little experience with!)… so I might return to that topic some other day.

Moving right along… here is this week’s prompt:

What are you passionate about besides reading and blogging?

Tell us why you’re passionate about it. Post photos of what you’ve made or of yourself doing whatever it is you love doing.

Get us involved. Link to tutorials, recipes, Youtube videos, websites, fan sites, etc, anything that will help us learn more about your interest or how to do your hobby.

Anyone who knows me probably already knows the answer to this question… I became addicted to scrapbooking almost 9 years ago. I wanted to make a “custom” baby book for my soon-to-be baby boy, and it didn’t take long for that project to spiral out of control and turn into an obsession!

I started with a trip to Michael’s and a little box (then a backpack) full of baby scrapping goodies.

Today, I have more scrapping junk than I care to think about (or document here). My scrap space takes up a whole section of my house, and I move it frequently, trying to find the perfect spot for my creative outlet. It’s really difficult to find space for this hobby when you’re a family of four (plus two dogs) crammed into a tiny, 3-bedroom house. Currently, my scrap area (with only a fraction of my most-used supplies) is in my kitchen. One of these days, I’ll have a scrap room, I just know it! Here’s my space in the kitchen today:

scrapspace-001

Here are a few layouts that I’ve created in the past 6 months or so:

008

007

016

001

There are plenty more where those came from, but I won’t bore with looking through my library of layouts!

My very favorite place to shop online for scrapping goodies is Happy N Scrappin. They always have really great clearance sales and shipping is pretty reasonable. I also like A Cherry On Top because they carry just about everything I could possible want (and have a great gallery for inspiration).

I also dabble in digi scrapping, although I have a lot to learn there! My all-time favorite place to grab digital kits is Shabby Princess. I love everything they have there, and especially love the freebie kits that they offer. They also make cool BLOGwear, which my blog header is currently sporting! My friend Trish, who is a digi master!, turned me on to Ikea Goddess, who posts daily digi freebies from all over… love that!

Why am I passionate about scrapping? Well, I think scrapbooks are a lot more fun to flip through than photo albums. I love the fact that I can journal to my heart’s content and “personalize” the pics so that my kids will get more of the story behind the photos when they’re older. And it’s fun to play with stickers and adhesive and ribbons, and, and, and… I’ve also met some wonderful ladies over the years who share my love of scrapbooking. There’s nothing more heavenly than a weekend crop, where I can gather together with scrappy friends, get away from the hustle and bustle of home for a few days, and scrap to my heart’s content! Honestly, I’d rather do that than go on a beach vacation!

This entry was posted in scrapbooking, Weekly Geeks. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Geeks 2009-04

  1. Robin says:

    Your projects are just beautiful! And I’m incredibly impressed with our neat and organized your scrapbooking space is in your kitchen! You inspire me!

  2. Kerry says:

    Your scrap pages are lovely. I do a little digi scrapping, but I am in awe of you people that do it with paper. I’m in love with ctrl-Z and don’t think I would dare try anything without it. You actually cut up paper and glue things down. The idea scares me silly. Thanks for a great WG.

  3. Erika Lynn says:

    your pages are really pretty, so many of the weekly geeks are in to scrapbooking, i think I may need to try this out.

  4. Louise says:

    Loved your examples of your scrapping. I am thinking about trying digital scrapping when I get some more time, and I know I will become obsessed so I am staying away from those webpages until I know I have more time on my hands πŸ™‚

  5. Trish says:

    Master I don’t think so, but I am glad you like them πŸ˜‰

  6. Bridget =) says:

    love your pages!!!!

    and I LOVE ACOT!!!!!!!!! =)

  7. I scrapbook too. I love that I can tell a story with my photos. Beautiful layouts!

  8. Dorte H says:

    New hobbies turning into obsessions, that is just me!
    Your scrapbooks are great and I am sure they make wonderful, personal gifts.

  9. Nicola says:

    Your pages are gorgeous — nice job. My WG is about scrapping too. πŸ˜‰

  10. Stephanie says:

    I love your pages. I’m a digital scrapbooker, having switched over from paper to save space and money awhile back. Every once in a while I do miss those scrapbooking days out!

Leave a Reply

