Random thoughts at 1am

I seem to be suffering from some sort of “late night psychosis” at the moment, and therefore I’m unable to organize my thoughts enough to compose a blog post on any ONE topic. My brain is going in 50 directions all at once, so I’m afraid this post is going to be a hodge podge of random thoughts. Forgive me; I’ll try to do better next time.

First of all, I’m still working on this beast of a book that I’ve been editing (and whining about) for weeks now… really, it feels more like years… like lifetimes! There is a light at the end of the tunnel, though. I’m hoping to be finished (Hallelujah!) in the next day or two. Unfortunately, another project is right on its heels and is already wayyy behind schedule, so I won’t be able to do much celebrating. But I will allow myself to feel just the slightest bit of relief, for a moment or two. I know I complain about work and deadlines a lot… but, in the decade that I’ve been doing this, I’ve never had a project quite as horrible (and loooong) as this one. B-E-A-S-T.

Second, the big news around here (other than the darn Superbowl, but that’s another topic altogether!) is the fabulous winter storm that’s bearing down on us at this very moment. I feel like it’s been snowing in the hills for months, and really, I think it has… but we just get little bits at a time, nothing to write home about. But this storm is pretty nasty… chock full o’ snow and ice and all that fun stuff. Schools were closed today and they’ve already announced that tomorrow will be another glorious Snow Day. Yes, that’s sarcasm. With this beast of a work project that I’m trying desperately to finish, having my kids (and the neighborhood kids) underfoot all day is NOT a good thing. Avery hasn’t been to school in weeks… Damon has had a million 2-hour delays, and when schools are delayed, preschool is called off altogether. Someone out there hates me. But the kids, of course, are enjoying it. I’m so happy for them.

Third, Nick has been working his patootie off for months now, trying to get his DJ/karaoke business up and running. Last week, the poor UPS man showed up and hauled hundreds of pounds of sound equipment through the snow and ice and into my living room. Saturday night, Nick had his first “solo” gig. Some new friends of ours made it out for the big night, and I took some much-needed time away from work to see him in action. It was a fun evening, full of baaaad karaoke (mostly thanks to yours truly). Nick’s been busy getting his name out there and booking more shows… the calendar is filling up quickly, which is a good thing!

Fourth, my baby turns eight in a few days. Eight. I find myself highly emotional and in mourning two days each year when my babies celebrate their birthdays, so this is nothing new. But I can’t believe a child of mine is eight years old (let’s not even talk about how old that makes me!). And I must have suffered from a moment of temporary insanity when I told Damon that he could have a sleepover birthday party. This Saturday, my house will be filled with 8-year-old boys… all night. I hate 8-year-old boys. Especially ones that I didn’t give birth to… so this should be ooooodles of fun! Note to self: purchase a new bottle of ibuprofen before Saturday; you’re gonna need it!

Fifth, I’m having reading-for-fun withdrawals this week. I did manage to finish Black Magic Woman somehow… and I keep wanting to post a review, but just haven’t had time to organize my thoughts enough for that. I will say that I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would, based on all of the other reviews I’ve read that prompted me to run to my nearest bookstore and buy it. Now that I’ve read it, I’ve gone back and re-read some of those reviews; and honestly, they leave me scratching my head. I didn’t love it; and I’m usually a very easy sell when it comes to books, of pretty much any type. So I’m not sure what I missed… But, anyway, for the first time in ages, I’m not currently reading a book. I don’t think I’m going to enjoy anything very much until I get caught up with work. And my TBR pile deserves more than that.

Okay, I think that’s enough randomness for one night. I should probably ignore the cappuccino that’s pumping through my veins, telling me that I’ve got another few hours of life left in me, and go to bed… so that I can prepare to battle the beastly book again in the morning. It’s going down… one of these days.

This entry was posted in books, Damon, Nickolas, randomness, winter/snow, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

