Weekly Geeks (2009-02)

For those who have been with the group, either from the start or joined within recent months, what does being a member mean to you? What do you enjoy about the group? What are some of your more memorable Weekly Geeks that we might could do again? What could be improved as we continue the legacy that Dewey gave us?

For those just joining us, why did you sign up for Weekly Geeks? What would you like to see here?

Well, I’m definitely a newbie; this is only my second week participating as a Weekly Geek. But I have to say that I’m loving it already. I made my first Geeky post last Sunday and then waited anxiously for this week’s question to be posted (I did a happy dance when I saw that the WG site was updated last night!).

Why did I sign up? Hmmm, because I only recently discovered the World of Book Blogs and I’m hooked.Β  Because it looked like a relatively simple meme, and one I might be able to keep up with on a weekly basis. Because I’m always looking for “different” things to blog about. My kids are cute, yes. But I wanted to add something else to my blog… not just stories about my kids, dogs, and what we ate for dinner last night… something more “substantial” maybe. And, although I don’t consider my blog “a book blog” (and probably never will), I do love books/reading, and I’m excited about introducing a little of that here. Weekly Geeks looked like the perfect way to get my feet wet!

What would I like to see here? I’m not sure, honestly. So far, so good! It sounds like the Geeks have had some really interesting topics in the past, and I’m looking forward to what’s to come.

(By the way, if you’re not a Weekly Geek, but you’d like to check it out… just click on the cute, little “I’m a Weekly Geek” button in my sidebar; it should take you to their site, and you can see for yourself what all the fun’s about!)

**Hey Geeks, Check out this post for a great cause and the chance to win a $25 Amazon gift certificate! I know you guys could use one of those!**

**Hey non-Geeks, If you read my last post and were moved, but just can’t afford to make a donation to the Avon Walk, I’ve decided to add another option for you… All you have to do is join Weekly Geeks; leave a comment for me on this post and you’ll get one entry into the drawing for the Amazon GC. And if you’ve already donated, you can earn another entry by joining the Geeks!**

This entry was posted in blog, meme, Weekly Geeks. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weekly Geeks (2009-02)

  1. Louise says:

    Welcome to the Weekly Geeks πŸ™‚ Its great to see new participants and it is even more great to get to know them and check out their blogs. I am looking forward to get to know you and will have a look around your blog πŸ™‚

  2. That was another reason I joined last year. I was still relatively new and thought this would give me something else to blog about. Granted posting all reviews are nice, but they weren’t posted on a certain date, not like these at least.

  3. terri says:

    Oh I know just how you feel, doing the happy dance on Friday night! Yes, I agree about having a springboard of ideas to blog about (I’m experiencing the same on my photo blog with memes – interesting stuff is everywhere!).

    So glad you’re back to join in the fun this week. I hope it continues to be good fun for you.

  4. Maree says:

    I have both a general blog and a books blog. I post far more on my books blog for sure. πŸ™‚
    Happy Weekly Geeks!

  5. bookworm says:

    WG is a great way to meet other bloggers πŸ˜‰
    fun blog!

  6. Suey says:

    Welcome to the fun world of Weekly Geeks. Great post!

  7. blbooks says:

    I love that it gives me something different to blog about too. And on weekends, that’s something so handy to have! And welcome to weekly geeks, by the way!

  8. I joined for same reason. Book Blogs are Awesome!

  9. Kerrie says:

    Welcome to Weekly Geeks. It is a great community and as you cruise people’s blog postings, be sure to explore the rest of their blog. That’s where you find some great links and ideas

  10. Eva says:

    Welcome to Weekly Geeks! I think it’s fun when non-book bloggers join in, just because it’s a different perspective. πŸ™‚

  11. Alessandra says:

    Welcome to Weekly Geeks! I love the name of your blog, I find it hilarious πŸ™‚

  12. Kerry says:

    Glad to meet another WG. I can see my feed reader is going to continue to explode!

  13. alirambles says:

    I love when people without specifically book-devoted blogs do Weekly Geeks. Love having the variety.

    Good luck with your Avon walk. Such a crucial cause that touches so many lives.

  14. Erin says:

    ohhh, Ali, I’m not doing the Walk myself… just supporting those who are! lol I have the easy part πŸ˜‰

    I’m so glad you guys are welcoming me and my non-book blog!

  15. softdrink says:

    I forgot what I was going to say…I got distracted by those little creature/germ-like avatars…too cute!

  16. Chris says:

    Welcome to WG!

Leave a Reply

