No one remains untouched

U.S. Facts About Breast Cancer (taken from the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer’s Web site)

  • More than 178,000 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer this year.breastcancerribbon
  • More than 40,000 women die from breast cancer each year.
  • Breast cancer takes another life every 13 minutes.
  • Another woman is diagnosed with breast cancer every 3 minutes.
  • A woman has a 1 in 8 chance of developing breast cancer in her lifetime.

The numbers are grim, but there’s something that all of us can do to help…

Two women, who are very near and dear to my heart, will be participating in the Avon Walk in Washington DC this May.

Mary (aka Meddy, Mare, my wicked stepmother!) had a hand in raising yours truly and making me the person I am today. She’s one of the most intelligent, generous, loving, kind-hearted (the list goes on and on) women I’ve ever known. Mary will be pounding the pavement in DC this May in memory of her mother, Margaret Hepburn Crouter, who lost her battle with breast cancer at the age of 42. Mary will also be walking this year for and alongside her sister, Libby, a cancer survivor.

When I first heard that Libby was diagnosed with breast cancer several months ago, my immediate reaction was one of horror and sadness. Those emotions were quickly followed by a smile (and I might have sent a little prayer up for her, too). I smiled because I’ve always known Libby to be such a positive, “the glass is half full”-kinda person. I just knew that her strength (both her own and from those around her) and positive outlook would get her through.

My Aunt Linda is another amazing woman who has battled this disease and won.  A 15-year survivor this April, Aunt Linda underwent surgery, chemo, and radiation. She’s the only person I know who can reminisce about those experiences and have us all laughing hysterically in the process; she always kept that key positive outlook and a smile on her face, when most of us would’ve been crying and shaking our fists at the sky. I can’t imagine not having had these past 15 years with my Aunt Linda… and look forward  to the next 15 years with her, too!

Please take the time to visit Mary’s Avon Walk page and Libby’s Avon Walk page and consider making a donation, if you’re able. Every little bit helps and just might be the key to ensuring that your “Libby” or “Aunt Linda” will survive her fight against breast cancer, too!

**If you do make a donation for Mary and/or Libby, please leave me a comment here letting me know. In 2 weeks, I’ll hold a random drawing (one entry for each donation made) based on the comments received and will send the winner a $25 gift certificate to Amazon. Donating to a great cause AND free books? What could be better than that?? ;)**

This entry was posted in awareness, contest/giveaway. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No one remains untouched

  1. Dadda/Grampy says:

    Very nicely put — and I can just see the two sisters walking abreast of one another! Go Crouter/Holter/Hepburns!!!!

  2. kate says:

    What a wonderful cause! My aunt Pam is a breast cancer survivor. I have a friend who participates in this walk in Boston and I am in such awe of her dedication.
    You are a good friend/relative for putting this out there, Erin!

  3. Libby says:

    Erin,

    You are the sweetest! And what a great service you have done for the cause of breast cancer research and advocacy! Thank you so much for that post. It’s amazing to me how many people have been touched by this. I’m sending this to all my friends, so they can see what a special person you are!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Geeks (2009-02) «

  5. Mary says:

    Erin dear,
    i am so touched by your words – you have a very special place in my heart! thank you for your eloquence and good humor and commitment. lots of love always, Mare

Leave a Reply

