Weekly Geeks (2009-01)

A new year, a new blog, a new book blog obsession… why not a new blog meme??

I think I arrived at the Weekly Geeks site via Literary Escapism and it looks like fun, so here I go…

This week’s topic:

Tell us about your favorite blogs, the ones you have bookmarked or subscribe to in your Google Reader, that you visit on a regular basis. Tell us what it is about these blogs that you love, that inspire or educate you or make you laugh. Be sure to link to them so we can find them too.

Most of the blogs that I subscribe to or read regularly are friends of mine “in real life” or mommy blogs or scrapbooking blogs. I’ve just recently discovered a whole slew of book blogs that I really like, but that’s a relatively new thing, so I can’t call myself a regular reader… yet. Here are some of my favorite places to visit on the Net and why:

Pioneer Woman: What’s not to love about P-Dub? She has awesome recipes, complete with photos that make me drool on my keyboard. She also takes fabulous photos of her punks (and anyone else who wanders onto the ranch), pets, livestock, and breathtaking sunrises/sunsets. Her romance with Marlboro Man, which she’s been chronicling in Black Heels to Tractor Wheels, gives me warm fuzzies. And, she has, hands down, the most fabulous/generous giveaways I’ve ever seen anywhere online (there were over 14,000 comments/entries for her latest giveaway! *thud*). I love Ree. I want to be Ree’s friend. Heck, I want to be Ree!! But I’ll settle for being one of her 534,239 readers/fans.

Dad Gone Mad: Danny makes me laugh. Danny makes me laugh a lot. I mentioned that I read a lot of mommy blogs, but parenting (and marriage) from a male perspective is quite entertaining and refreshing. I like that he calls his dearly beloved “Hot Wife.” I love that he curses like a sailor from time to time, but manages to do so in a way that I can’t imagine anyone finding offensive (well, I’m sure lots of people would find it offensive, but I’m certainly not one of them and think those people should lighten up… just a bit). I want to be Danny and Hot Wife’s neighbor and drink a beer with them on the porch every Friday night.

Boobs, Injuries, and Dr. Pepper: Crystal definitely has a way with words. I used to look forward to getting out of bed every morning, just so I could roll in here to the computer and check Crystal’s blog for a new post that was sure to have me howling with laughter. Unfortunately, she doesn’t seem to post very often anymore, unless she’s mentioning a blog award she received, or hopes to receive. I was positively on the edge of my seat during her Crazy Chronicles and thought it took a lot of guts to bare her soul the way she did. I e-mailed Crystal once (I swear, I’m not a crazy blogger stalker, but I was inspired in this case) and directed her to the post I wrote about my own craziness. When she left a comment on my blog an hour later, I almost fell out of my chair. I love Crystal… I’m hopeful that one day she’ll return to her blog fans and keep us laughing.

Bluebug Photography: Melissa is a fabulous photographer. She also happens to be a dear friend of mine. I always look forward to the photos that Meliss posts from her recent sessions on this blog. I get downright giddy when she posts new photos of her new baby girl, Lily. That baby, her crazy hair, and the gorgeous photos that her mother takes of her can always bring a smile to my face, no matter how rotten my day has been.

Literary Escapism: I figured I’d better post at least one book blog, since the majority of the Weekly Geeks are book people! My friend Angie introduced me to this site not long ago, and it quickly moved up my list of favorites. There’s just so much good book-related stuff here (reviews, new releases, news about authors, links to author sites, contests/giveaways, etc.), and I love it all.

In addition to these five sites, I look forward to reading my friends’ blogs each and every day, too. One of these days, I’ll be adding a “Links” section on my sidebar chock full ‘o family and friend blogs that I read regularly… it’s on the to-do list!

This entry was posted in blog, meme, Weekly Geeks. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Geeks (2009-01)

  1. terri says:

    Welcome to Weekly Geeks! Isn’t it great to have whole new worlds to explore?? Except now you’ll need a few extra hours in your day, of course.

  2. Maree says:

    Welcome to the Weekly Geeks! I read Pioneer Woman every day _ love her 🙂

  3. Kerrie says:

    Welcome to Weekly Geeks Erin. You will have great fun exploring people’s posts each week.

  4. kate says:

    I seriously LOVE the new name of your blog. So fitting for you!

  5. Angie says:

    Blog looks great! And I enjoyed this post. It’s something different for you.

  6. Erin says:

    Wow, what a great Geek welcome; thanks, Ladies! 🙂

    Kate, I knew you’d love my new name! lol

    Thanks, Angie. It thrills me that you’re able to SEE my blog now, the way it should be!

    And this post WAS a little different for me… I’m steppin’ out, baby! 😉 I really enjoyed doing it, too!

  7. softdrink says:

    I’m a P-Dub fan, too. Welcome to Weekly Geeks…hope to see you around next week, too!

Leave a Reply

