Undeniably Yours by Shannon Stacey

One-night stand + two percent condom failure rate = happily ever after?

Bar owner Kevin Kowalski is used to women throwing their phone numbers at him, but lately he’s more interested in finding a woman to settle down with. A woman like Beth Hansen. If only their first meeting hadn’t gone so badly…

Beth’s tending bar at a wedding when she comes face-to-face with a tuxedo-clad man she never thought she’d see again. She tries to keep her distance from Kevin but, by last call, she can’t say no to his too-blue eyes or the invitation back to his room. Then she slips out before breakfast without leaving a note and, despite their precautions, pregnant.

Kevin quickly warms to the idea of being a dad and to seeing where things go with Beth. After all, he’s not the player she thinks he is. But she’s not ready for a relationship and, given his reputation, it’s going to take a lot to convince her to go on a second date with the father of her child…

I don’t even know what to say about this book… because I have SO much to say about it! Undeniably Yours is the second book Shannon Stacey has written about the Kowalski family. In Exclusively Yours, we met this large, complex, loving family and went on a memorable, fun camping trip with them. And, although I loved the main romance in that book, I think I loved the Kowalski family even more. So, I was thrilled to spend some more time with them in Undeniably Yours!

I think what sets these stories apart from other contemporary romances I’ve read is that these stories and characters are so REAL. When I’m reading these books, I feel like I know the Kowalskis. They are a real family with real problems… and real reactions. (How many times can I use the word “real”??)

I was intrigued by how this book started, with a one-night stand and the resulting pregnancy. Again, so real. Things like that actually happen in the real world… but it’s not very often that a book starts that way. I also loved that Kevin was the one who was happy and excited about the baby, and Beth was the apprehensive one. Quite a role reversal from what we usually see, I think… and I found it to be very refreshing.

I don’t think there’s any way someone can read either of these books and NOT fall madly in love with the entire Kowalski clan. They are the family that we all want to be a part of. They certainly aren’t perfect and don’t do everything “by the book,” but no matter what, they are a family that supports one another and deals with whatever comes their way. Even better? They do it with a splash of humor.

Kevin and Beth’s love story is not your typical, formula romance… and I think that’s what makes it work for me.

Contemporary romance has never been my favorite genre… in fact, I tend to shy away from it. But Shannon Stacey and the Kowalski family are quickly changing my mind. If you’re looking for real stories about real people, then head over to Carina Press and add these two books to your collection!

Undeniably Yours releases November 1, 2010. I reviewed an ARC from NetGalley and Carina Press.

This entry was posted in books, ebooks. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Undeniably Yours by Shannon Stacey

  1. Pingback: Release day for Undeniably Yours! | Shannon Stacey

Leave a comment